Dreams of Egypt

Last night I dreamed that I was a temple priestess. I was in Egypt, wearing soft, white robes and a headpiece or mask representing the head of a black cat. Clearly, I was in the Temple of Bast.

As in all of my dreams, I saw myself from outside my body before flying into it and inhabiting it and then, there I was, looking down at marble stairs descending into muddy water. The top steps weren’t submerged but I could see three or four which were, moving from clear down into golden-green water and becoming darker, siltier, deeper with each descending stair.

Behind me I could feel the temple, tall, brightly painted pillars, a vaulted height that may have been open to the sky, then an interior, cool and dim.

That was all. Priestess in the Temple of Bast looking at stairs leading down into the water. There are many ways to interpret this and I have my own but what I found most intriguing was the possibility that is or was an actual temple of this sort. I called upon my BFF, google.

3D Temple of Bastet from Photobucket, if you clicked that link and had a look around, you may think (as I did) that this is an artist’s rendering of what the temple looked like. It was certainly surrounded by water and so the looking down the steps would be accurate.

It is interesting to know that the temple did exist and is being excavated but even more interesting that the dream images were right on. HUGE DOUBLE RAINBOW! Or something almost as cool.

To read more about the Temple of Bastet at Bubastis click here.

About Bettina Colonna Essert

Illuminated Magdalene High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in dreams, health and well-being, myths, weird stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dreams of Egypt

  1. Terry Perrel says:

    You always surprise me with the expanse of your knowledge. You’re always learning something and passing it on. Thanks.

Leave a comment