GAPS, Paleo, Primal Eating and the Challenge (because I did not feel like cooking!)

For 7 weeks I’ve been eating what is pretty purely the GAPS diet. No grains, starches or sugar other than honey. This all began as a way, I hoped, to help my sickies: my husband and my oldest daughter. However, as usual, what has happened is that I’ve been eating stringently, taking fish oil and probiotics, and abstaining from pasta and potatoes and they’ve been, sort of, trying.

What I’ve discovered: I can’t save them. Other than that, I have learned that corn upsets my stomach and that sugar makes me feel like I’m having a panic attack. Potatoes are delicious and pasts is pretty good but I don’t really miss it all that much. I feel perkier but haven’t lost any weight that I can tell, though maybe my belly is slightly less protuberant. It’s also true that I have put much more effort into meal prep and that’s a huge bunch of stress on me. No beans? REALLY?

Last night we went out to dinner at a local stuffy restaurant. Not my favorite. I was angling for something else but was outnumbered so there we went. The food was just okay. But that’s not the point! I ate mashed potatoes and a few french fries. My god they were good! I also ate doughnut holes, coated in powdered sugar, fresh from the frier and served with dipping sauces. They were sweet and hot and crunchy and delectable. And they kept me awake all night. I know this because I’ve done this before sans any other cheats. Sugar is like speed.

Now though it’s holiday time! Fudge and cookies and cupcakes and things. Oh, those wonderful, sugary things. Do I hang in there in spite of being tired of all of the effort or just give up and eat the easy things like spaghetti and that damned Bailey’s Irish Cream Fudge? 

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in food, health and well-being. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GAPS, Paleo, Primal Eating and the Challenge (because I did not feel like cooking!)

  1. Terry Perrel says:

    Well, the last time I saw you, you weren’t the least bit invisible. In fact your skin glowed and eyes shone in a way I’d never seen, and while the scale might not have shown a change in weight, you were slim yet and still curvy. Our waiter, the one who’d yet to learn English, acted as if he thought you were something special. (As do I, but probably not in the same way. I was into our talk.) So, considering all of that, I think your seven weeks paid off. You, hot mama.

  2. Sheila says:

    I don’t think there’s enough Baileys in it to make it worth your while. Not that I’ve tasted it. Six tablespoons? Give me 6 cups and I’d say GO FOR IT.

  3. Sapphyre says:

    I say “Don’t give up!”. I’ve been on a gluten free, sugar free diet since October 19th. I’ve noticed a big difference in how I feel. The hardest times for me have been the holidays (Halloween, Day of the Dead, Thanksgiving) as I have a SERIOUS sweet tooth. I made it though. I didn’t give in at all and you know what? I feel really good about that. I feel like I made a conscious choice to love myself and take care of myself. Finally, the only way to inspire your hubby & your eldest to make a change is to be a living example….
    Love & miss you!

Leave a Reply

