SaniTea


Every morning I wake up and make one pot of coffee and one pot of this infusion. The pot is about a quart and once the hot water is in and the herbs steeping, I sit the tea pot on this little warmer that my husband gave me for Christmas. It was an excellent gift, the warmer.

The longer the tea steeps, the more goodies the herbs release into the infusion. Often, the first cup is poured before there’s been an hour’s worth of steeping time, but it takes until noon to drink the whole pot, so I get the good stuff that those herbs release.

You see, I am a Woman of a Certain Age and with that age have come a few nagging issues like severe depression, thinning hair, drier skin and exhaustion. It was so bad for a few days, the depression, that I couldn’t get out of bed. This was a long time ago though and after days of complete physical and mental prostration, I collected enough cosmic goo to get up and order every single recommended supplement for depression according to the Prescription for Nutritional Healing. They came. I took them by the handsful. Things began to feel better. It was amazing actually.

Once the supplements started filling in those empty and bereft receptors in my brain, I also started drinking a daily nettle infusion. Over time, this infusion has evolved into a combination of several different herbs that are doing all sorts of lovely things for my brain and body.

For starters, my hair is better. It’s not as silky as when I was young but it’s somewhat thicker and shinier. My skin is nicer, more supple and that nasty depression has stayed asleep at the back of the cave for a long time now.

I’ve been drinking this infusion daily for a couple of years I think. When we travel I take a tincture of the same herbs and that gets me through up to a month. I prefer the infusion though. With honey.

RECIPE:
6 C dried nettle leaves
2 C each of dried oat straw, red raspberry leaves, red clover leaves and blossoms, lemon balm
1c each dried Lady’s Mantle and eleuthero

mix and store in an air tight jar or bag and use 4 heaping tablespoons in about 1 quart of hot water. You might allow this to simmer on the stove top for an hour if you don’t have a good tea pot and warmer, then you can strain it through a fine-mesh sieve into your tea cup. It has a nice, green taste without sweetener. Personally, I add honey that we collect from our own hives and thanks to that, my allergies are also sleeping at the back of the cave.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in health and well-being, herb/herbalism, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SaniTea

  1. Kerry says:

    Oat Straw? Really? What does that do?

  2. Cerwydwyn says:

    http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/learn/oatstraw.php
    Mountain Rose has great info on most herbs on their web site. Oat straw is nervine, has calcium and B vitamins (good for us girls!) and is rumored to increase sex drive for women and men. That last may or may not be a good thing, depending. It also tastes really good.

Leave a Reply

