Healing

Do you ever get tired of the accepted idea that there is one right way to healing? I do. I reject it, in fact. When a woman who knows me gets a UTI, they get my herbal recipe. When a child gets a booboo they receive a blob of my herbal salve. When I feel my gall bladder twinge, the first thing I do is start taking bitters and thinking of a clean diet or juice fast. Going to our GP is a last resort.

I love allopathic medicine, however. When there is a wound that needs stitching, a broken bone or something of that ilk, I’m there.

The thing is, there isn’t just One Right Way to heal yourself. In fact, often what folks thinks of as healing is really nothing more than medicating to cover the symptoms in hopes that you can STFU and your body will do its job while you think you feel fine.

What happens to my body when I take too many medicines–OTC or prescriptions–is that things begin to fall apart. My teeth abscess. My tummy hurts. Things like that. Cleaning house and boosting immunity is the key to repairing that damage.

In our house, healing is not a science but an art. Intuition is key. Each family member and friend has a different constitution, temperament and my way of dealing with each is different and dependent on the needs of the person, the illness and  the moment. Everyone, however, can benefit from a dose of my Elderberry-Reishi Cordial made with our own honey!

Following my intuition has always led me the right way. Explaining this to people has forever been difficult. Thank goodness my husband ‘gets it’ and is cool going with the flow, because that’s what it is, a flow. It’s not a wall or a line or a finite thing. Healing is something that is flux, by its very nature. We get a little better today, a little better tomorrow, not BAM! you’re healed! Flux. Flow.

It’s okay to embrace it.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in health and well-being, herb/herbalism, honey bees, Mark. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

