Honey for Seasonal Allergies

Extracting honey

There’s a lot of talk about using honey for seasonal allergies and I’m here to tell you that it’s working for me. The bees may be able to help you very specifically with allergies to local pollens. If you’re allergic to dogs, the honey probably won’t help.

For the past year I’ve been eating honey from our own backyard hives. In the Spring, I eat Spring honey. In the Autumn, I eat Fall honey. For one year now I have not needed to take one Claritin, not a dose of Benadryl, nothing. I have, on occasion, needed to blow my nose.

I’m not a scientist. I am, rather, a common sense-itist. Bees collect pollen from plants surrounding my (or your, or your neighbor’s) home. They bring it into the hive and store it as propolis or honey. In the Spring, when things are making you sneeze, the bees are making it into delicious sweetness that contains the equivalent of an allergy shot–a very small amount of whatever it is that ails you. Ditto in the Fall.

As to quantities, well, I’m probably not the best person to say. I eat a lot of honey. Every day I drink a quart of herbal decoction and in every mug, there is a generous spoonful of honey. That’s about 4 tablespoons of honey per day. Not for the faint of heart, thin of wallet or high of blood sugar. But what the hell? I’m not sneezing or dripping, nor do I feel as if there is a glass bubble over my head. That’s worth one heckuva lot.

Sources for local honey: check out Local Harvest; go to your farm market, especially the little stands dotted throughout Pungo (if you’re in the Tidewater area of Virginia, that is). Most of the farmers there allow beekeepers to use their farms to keep hives and then market the honey through their farm stands. The farther away the honey was made, the less it’s going to help you; contact Tidewater Beekeepers Association or Tidewater Beekeepers Guild for names of beekeepers who may be renegade keepers right in your neighborhood. Offer to bake them something in addition to paying, something that tastes good slathered in honey.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, bees, environment, gardening-organic biodynamic natural, health and well-being, herb/herbalism, honey bees, suburban homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

