The Saga of the Liver

For years now my husband has been consuming a commercial brand braunsweiger. He eats. I bitch. Finally, last week, we had a light bulb moment. Thanks Oprah.

He is eating crackers slathered with the pink putty-ish substance and I’m all like, ‘Ew.’

Finally, after All These Years he says what’s on his (passive aggressive, rose bush mowing) mind, ‘Liver is GOOD FOR YOU. I always heard that liver is good for you.’

Oh. Oh, finally I get it. You see I was opposed only to the way the liver was treated while it was still the resident of the body of a commercially raised hog. My objection isn’t about the fact that he is eating liver, it’s about the fact that what he’s eating is the poison filter from animals who live their lives in a poison environment. Think of what builds up in those livers.

If human being cannot survive submersion in a hog lagoon where the toxins and feces are stored until they are aerated (often onto crops, just so you know), then the liver is a mini-lagoon. Why would anyone EAT that? Especially someone who is already dreadfully unhealthy? Yuck, yuck and double yuck.

So I decided to try my hand at making liver pate. There is a convenient recipe in Bon Appetit this month. I went to the local shop and asked for Polyface chicken livers. They were out. Ironically they had mistakenly received 10 pounds of livers from another supplier and didn’t know what to do with them. I did. I was confident that the pate would be a hit…I’m cocky like that. Then again, it’s hard to hurt something that’s made up of mostly chicken livers and butter.

It took me 3 days and I had to buy a new %#%@#^% food processor since the old one decided to take advantage of the pressure and give up the locking mechanism on its handle. Long may it rot. Finally we have jars and jars and jars of chicken liver pate in the freezer. He likes it. The recently neutered cat *really* likes it but he’d better not get used to it.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, chickens, environment, family, health and well-being, Mark, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Saga of the Liver

  1. Great blog. I used to love Braunsweiger and then my conscience got a hold of me and and I haven’t bought it since. Oh, I should add that I really read the ingredients list and that was just the icing on the cake. Poor, poor piggies. I can’t stand the thought of how they are treated in factory farms.

  2. Sheila says:

    I made påté for Christmas one year and it was hugely popular, until everyone found out what I’d made it from. It’s a taboo item here still, I guess, unless you’ve been to Europe and have stopped being grossed out by weird meats. Not that I’ve ever been to Europe, lol, but that sort of thing doesn’t make me nauseous.

  3. Cerwydwyn says:

    Karen, you and I are de acuerdo regarding CAFO meat. Sheila, lots of things make me nauseous but for some weird reason, chicken livers don’t. Could be all the heads and feet I’ve hacked off…tends to make one immune to certain niceties 😉

Leave a Reply

