The Dollhouse

Most people would call this a playhouse and I tend to try to use that term because dollhouse means something entirely different to most people than it does to me. But when I was a kid I had a Dollhouse and I played inside it with my toys and friends and dog. Then I grew up and so did my sister, for whom the Dollhouse was actually constructed and then? She had kids and came and got it, just as my kids started making it their own.

My dad, sweetheart that he is, built two more–one for me and one for my sister-in-law. The two of us, ironically, had daughters in the single-digit age range. These girls are now 22 and 23 years old. My niece’s Dollhouse is dusty and full of spiders. Ours was too, after moving it to NC and back to VA again, it has just been sitting there in the yard, crooked and unloved. Today though I amped up the the remodeling energy and Martina and I set to work cleaning and decorating the Dollhouse.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanks to Sadie, Leah and Elsa who are little, adorable and who were open about their deep disapproval of the state of the Dollhouse when they last visited. Next time girls, you’ll have much more fun!

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in children, Martina, parenting, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dollhouse

  1. Lydia says:

    Oooo, Tina it looks BEAUTIFUL! I was trying to picture how you described the floor — I’m so glad you posted these images. The floor is so cool! I love how the cat has already moved in, she looks quite at home. 😀

  2. Patricia says:

    Looks Lovely!!
    Leah hopes the cat will stay when she comes over to play. 🙂

Leave a Reply

