A Red Tent Temple

After reading this last night and then making a point of dreaming on it, I’ve decided to begin a Red Tent in my hometown. For anyone interested, that is the Tidewater area of Virginia.

I suppose that each Red Tent community differs and that the hours also differ but I know what I can do and how much time I can commit and so I’ll just start from there.

A Red Tent Temple is celebrated on the New Moon of each month. In the novel, The Red Tent, the women all menstruated together during this phase of the moon. Personally, I don’t. My flow has always corresponded to my life phase as it relates to the phase the moon is in. In my most fertile years I bled just before and during the full but now, in this waning phase but still fertile, my flow comes just past the peak, when the moon is in her waning phase.

None of this is relevant to when we will celebrate our RTT. We will celebrate with our sisters all over, on the New Moon.

The Red Tent Temple will be a place to celebrate our femininity, a place we can come to tell our stories from the Story Chair and in the safety of our community of women who have not arrived to judge but to witness and love us and out stories. We will drum and sing, should the spirit so move us. We will talk about Buddha and Yahweh and Salome and Kerridwen. All religion is welcome. All women are welcome, so long as they have reached womanhood.

This will be our place, our place for reclaiming the beauty of sisterhood, of being women, of connection through silence, through touch, through speaking kindly to one another.

Aho.

Interested? Leave a comment.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, health and well-being, Red Tent Temple. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Red Tent Temple

  1. Terry says:

    Can I be a sporadic participant, depending on my driving abilities, even though I’m long past menopausal? I do have my own djembe. . . And on some days, I’m quite feminine if not hormonal. But as a senior goddess, I might have something to add to to the conversation. In small doses.
    Miss you,
    Terry

  2. Cerwydwyn says:

    Geeze Terry, if I left my past-menstruation sisters out, I wouldn’t know anybody! Not quite true but it’s getting there. I won’t start this until we get back into our bedroom by the way, should have included that in the post.
    See you next Friday!

  3. Sandi Mackeznie says:

    Wow that is the most stunning idea!!! Wish SA wasn’t so dang far away!!!

  4. Patricia says:

    Forgot to leave a comment before – sorry. I’m in.

Leave a Reply

