Internet rules, aka: Going Without Ain’t That Difficult

An example of Life. Happening.

Recently my internet addiction has become obvious, painful and pathetic. I think I’ve hit rock bottom and it’s time to drag my ass back up by the boot straps. So after taking a bit of a sabbatical from blogging, Facebook and surfing the web, I find that I don’t miss any of it.

At all.

I am committed to blogging because it’s a record, like a scrapbook, of our day-to-days here at Four Oaks but telling everyone every single random thought or cute quote or funny event in my life is not necessary. Facebook is superfluous. (No offense intended.)

Not that I’m checking out, I’m just scaling back. So if you don’t hear from me, not that many folks will notice anyway, please don’t be offended. I really do care that your dog ate a pinecone and pooped out scales for weeks, I’m just unaware that you posted that as a status update. You will also be happily unaware that our goats got out again or that I went bike riding in the rain.

In other words, life happens in those spaces when I’m not pecking away here in the ether and I’ve found that I prefer what happens out there. This morning, for example, I was up, dressed and had our day laid out, the dogs run, the kitten out, the cats fed, school set up and some cleaning done before the little one crawled out of bed. It was very nice. I didn’t check emails until noon. Nothing earth-shattering was missed.

So my plan is to save my witty repartee for the after everything else is finished times, maybe even eventually scaling back to every other day. Why? Because I keep looking for extra time to do all these things I want to do and where am I going to find it? Yep. Right here. In the ether.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in family, Four Oaks, health and well-being. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Internet rules, aka: Going Without Ain’t That Difficult

  1. Terry says:

    P.S. I do miss your gratitude journal. Sometime it reminded me of things I took for granted. And sometimes not. . . Off to scoop some dog poop with fish scales. LOL.

Leave a Reply

