Toothpaste (home made)

My teeth are bad. They look okay, thanks to dental care and some good luck, but they are not good teeth. I have poor tooth genetics and spent enough (long ago) evenings partaking of inhalable party favors (which drain into your sinuses and thereby eat your teeth) to have some pretty nasty problems going on inside my mouth.

If I let my immunity slide by taking too many medications, like I did last fall with Xanax, Benadryl and Aleve, and pair that with using regular toothpaste, my molars will abscess. Not all at once, just one or two of them. I managed to get rid of the problem without a trip to the dentist last October and am committed to only using my own, homemade toothpaste now that I know how my teeth react to store boughten stuff.

For a long time I simply left my toothbrush soaking in a small jug of peroxide with a few drops of clove or mint oil in it and when I brushed, I’d dunk the wet brush into a cup of baking soda that I kept in the bathroom for that purpose. This kept the root canal at bay.

Now I’ve moved on to mixing my own, less gritty, better tasting toothpaste. I put it into a squeeze bottle and if no one else uses it and forgets to shake it up, all is lovely.

Here’s the recipe:

1 Tbsp bentonite clay
2 Tbsp baking soda
1 Tbsp Alaea salt or other good salt, ground to a fine powder
10 drops mint oil (wintergreen, peppermint, spearmint, etc. are all fine),
5 drops each cinnamon, clove and myrrh essential oil
glycerin

Mix the powders. Pour enough glycerin in to make a thick paste and add the essential oils. Mix well. Add enough purified water to thin the paste a bit. Pour into a squeeze bottle and use like regular toothpaste. SHAKE WELL before each use.

This has kept infection out of my mouth for a few years now, except for the time I mentioned above. My teeth look whiter and feel cleaner and the taste of the toothpaste is preferable to that of commercial brands. I find that when I have to use store boughten toothpaste, it burns!

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in environment, health and well-being. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Toothpaste (home made)

  1. Lydia says:

    Ooo, I WANT SOME! Put it for sale on Etsy!

Leave a Reply

