Tomatoes

Things have been quiet here at Four Oaks of late. It’s too hot, seriously, to go outside. We do the necessary chores and then stay in. We’re getting a lot of tomatoes lately, so Martina and I are putting those up. We’ve made tomatoes; salsa and tomato sauce. We will make more in the weeks to come. In the depths of January, a jar of home-made salsa on quesadillas or of home made tomatoes and sauce over pasta will bring a bit of summer sunshine into our lives.

making sauce

garden fresh veggies ready to go into the salsa

Salsa!

ready for the pantry shelves

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomatoes

  1. Hi Tina, You made a comment on my blog, so I thought I’d come over and check yours out. Great stuff! Hey, when you can your salsa do you add vinegar or is it acidic enough without? I am always worried the added onions, peppers, etc. will lower the acidity.

    I’m slowly making my way around your blog. Nice to meet you : )
    Kerry

    • You know, I should add vinegar and haven’t yet. I’m thinking that I will freeze what I’ve canned so far and from now on will simply freeze the salsa. I prefer the fresh taste of the peppers before they’ve had the texture cooked out of them.
      Nice to meet you, too. My blog is unfocused and wanders a lot–one of the reasons I truly love those that have a particular focus. I also always wanted to live in New Mexico when I grew up…probably never will but I love the high mountain desert areas in NM/AZ/CO. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

