Bathroom Remodel

The sink. I took this post-floor-rip-out, so it’s filthy but you can see it, the mirror, the tile, the very tall radiator and the Very Ugly wallpaper.

Ever since we moved back here to my Grandfather’s old home there have been a few noticeable problems. Nothing unexpected in a home that’s nearly 100 years old but problems, nonetheless. For one, the toilet wasn’t seated properly and therefore oozed a thin line of crap (and by crap, I mean feces) that needed wiping up fairly often. It was utterly disgusting and I finally had a breakdown and told Mark, “You say you’re going to fix it. FIX IT then or I’m calling a plumber tomorrow morning and I’ll have it fixed by tomorrow night.”

He took the afternoon off of work and came home with the plan of replacing the wax ring seal on the toilet but what he found was that under our house all of the wood had rotted away and the toilet was being held up by concrete flooring and floor tile. I’m very happy that I did not end up sitting in the mud under there, potty reading in hand and a shocked look on my face.

So the toilet is gone. So is the sink, the tub and most of the bathroom floor. My grandmother’s cedar closet is on it’s way out, too. But there is good news! We get a new bathtub and shower stall, separate units because sans closet we suddenly have room for  them. This will make for easier cleaning of both. We will also be turning ‘Martina’s alcove’ into a walk-in closet where we will be able to hang our clothing and I can have a dressing table in front of two windows where I can dress and put on makeup (when I wear it) using natural light (provided it’s daytime!)

This is exciting news because if you’ve ever lived in an old house you know there just isn’t much closet space. We like to have much more clothing these days than folks did back then, apparently.

We will reuse the toilet and the sink and fixtures. We have also saved the wall hooks for reuse. Whatever can be salvaged from the cedar closet will go to my son’s woodworking shop for him to use in toy making. This is such a startling and necessary remodel project than finding ways to make it green is going to be a challenge…but I’m working on it.

Below are pics, though I don’t have any of the bathtub. It was white porcelain and about 62″ long. The ends were square to the bottom and this made it impossible to recline for a leisurely bath with a book. I look forward to the day I can soak my arthritic neck in a hot tub of water and am hoping that it will be soon!

Here we have the window on the back/eastern wall. Frame will be replaced as part of the remodel. The toilet was and will be again, just under the window. Tub is to the right.
The old cedar closet, deep and narrow with nary a place to hang a dress.
This is what was behind the shower. Now that it’s exposed my chest closes up when I get near it.
That post is the original corner of the cedar closet, now all gone except for one wall. I’d love to leave it but because our shower will go there, we have to have concrete board.
The floor. This is one of the minor holes which was in front of the sink. Under the bathtub was about 1/3 rotted away and under the toilet there was no wood at all.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in environment, family, Four Oaks, health and well-being, renovation/retrofitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

