In Which Quicken Steals $75 and Agrees to Return It

Following is the actual ‘copied and pasted’ conversation I had with a Quicken agent because they double charged me for financial software. Do they do this to everyone and I’m the only one who cares that the financial software mavens of our society have taken my money? I mean, sure, they say they’ll give it back and I assume that this is  true but they still will be using my money and, theoretically, the money of thousands of other people, in the interim. I am NOT OKAY WITH THIS. So far as I can tell there’s not much I can do on a Sunday afternoon to remedy the situation.




Abhijeet: Welcome to Quicken chat support. My name is Abhijeet. Please give me a moment while I review the info you provided. Bettina Essert: ok Abhijeet: Hi Bettina. Bettina Essert: hi Abhijeet: I have just checked in the records the other charge which you have charged may be a authorization charge ,because in our database it is showing just one charge . Abhijeet: Of $69.99 Bettina Essert: i don’t know what to say. Bettina Essert: there are two charges which have cleared my checking account both taken by intuit. Abhijeet: When a purchase is made with a check card, occasionally a merchant will charge an authorization, or hold to your check card to ensure that the funds will be available for payment. Often this amount is larger than the actual purchase, and a credit is later processed. The financial institution allows this transaction to be processed in a statement download. Later, another transaction will download with the correct amount. The authorization amount will be credited back to the account.  Bettina Essert: 04/08/2010 5734 INTUIT *18004INTUIT $69.99
04/08/2010 5734 INTUIT *18004INTUIT $75.41
 Bettina Essert: so if this is the case, the amount will be replaced when? Bettina Essert: the above was copied from my bank website Abhijeet: Within one two billing cycles . Bettina Essert: both transactions have cleared Bettina Essert: how long is a billing cycle? Abhijeet: I would suggest you to wait for 6 to 7 days if it will come back because in our records it shows just one charge of $69.99
 Bettina Essert: so Intuit steals $75 and uses it for a week and then gives it back and I’m supposed to be okay with that? i see a long winded blog post coming about this problem. Thanks for your help.



So perhaps this isn’t so long-winded but really? It doesn’t need to be.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, decency, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

