‘Tis the Season (for Migraine Headaches)

Christmas is my favorite season. For those not in the know, Christmas is not a holiDAY, it is a holiSEASON. Probably, for some people, it’s all about the shopping and the gifts and the presents and the stuff but for me it’s about something else. Decorations and lights and sparkly fairy thingies and looking into a pair of round blue eyes and seeing innocence and trust and all things good and holy.

Yes, it’s true that Christmas has little to do with the birth of Jesus in our household, though we do recognize him and tell his story right alongside the story of the lights in the Temple and the Yule fairies and Santa Clause.
But none of that is the point of this post. Christmas is known to be a stressful time of year. Normally, for me, it’s not. Only this year, it is. We aren’t completely moved. Our sheep are in NC still. The dog was spayed a few days ago and making sure she doesn’t pop a stitch and spill her guts all over the place is a chore. We have had parties lined up asshole to elbow and while they are wonderful and the whole getting dressed up thing is fun, I’m a bit worn out. Add to that serious, ongoing health issues, social stresses that outweigh anything in recent memory and a sudden influx of great business propositions and I’m all set up.
What do you mean ‘set up’ you may ask? Well, set up for a migraine. Stress is big factor in many migraines but for me they land just after the stress lets up. Like today. As soon as Mark walked into the house, Bam!, I went blind (which is from the aura preceding the migraine, a classical symptom). Yesterday I had to shop, something I hate worse than having my toenails plucked out with pliers, was dumped by a close friend for reasons I don’t understand, then had to do party prep for Night on the Town with my Dad and 50 or so of our closest relatives, some of whom we don’t know. Dressing included a lotion bottle explosion which covered Martina’s expensive cocktail dress and almost, ALMOST but not quite, ruined the night. We recovered. Mark lost a lens from his glasses at the party, during repairs I ordered a glass of Scotch and the bartender filled the fucker to the rim. God love her.
But I digress. Today we had to rush to arrive early for a 10am Nutcracker performance (think clean, neat, nice clothing). Remember we have livestock (think boots, hay covered clothing, wind, dirt, manure). We thoroughly enjoyed the show, and I was able to watch the ballet for the first time ever. Lovely. Magical. I cried. Then lunch with the kids, home for a riding lesson and house work.
When Mark came in I was making creamed turnips. He said, “Hello love,” and I went blind. (Again, the aura.) And that’s how it works for me and migraines. As soon as I can let my breath out after a period of extreme stress, Bam! It hits. Then my head hurts for a few days. But you know what? It’s okay. Because I have Mark to bring me water and Excedrin migraine and Martina to give me kisses and Travis to take over cooking the damned turnips. They were delicious.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in children, family, health and well-being. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

