Obsessed, Facebook, Real Life and Community Gardens


Lately I’ve been playing Farmville a lot. It’s a good fit for a computer game. I get to grow stuff. I get to check out. I get to harvest, virtually, tons and tons of beautiful produce that my friends stop by and fertilize for me. I have a similar relationship with Cafe World. I love to cook. Why not do it in cyberspace where clean up is easy and everything is forgivable.

Then today a friend told me about a meeting on Community Gardens at a local business. Tonight. So I turned off Facebook and went out into the real world where gardens have real dirt, real bugs and require real hands to work them. I won’t say it was amazing but it was good. It was satisfying like a crock pot full of simmering bean soup. It was filling. And nourishing. Are you tired of the nutritional cliches yet? The most thrilling thing of all was talking to, interacting with, breathing the same air as other people who are passionate about gardening and sustainability.
Mark and I have been so long in the society of monoculturists and so far from everything that might make us feel like we could be a part of a like-minded community that this evening’s meeting was far more for me than just informative. It was a reminder that I am not alone in this journey toward a healthy world.
Thanks Sara.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in container gardening, environment, food, gardening-organic biodynamic natural, health and well-being. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

