Marketing the Skills of a Homeschool Mom

Some days I look back on the hours that went before and I think, “What the hell did I do all day?” Most of the time I feel like I really haven’t accomplished what I set out to do and therefore, being a glass half-empty kind of gal, I think I didn’t do much if anything.

One of my friends used to be a high level marketing executive. She can make Food Lion potato salad sound like vichyssoise and vodka. Sometimes, when I have one of these I didn’t do squat days, I think of her and reframe.

Today is one of those days. I had grand plans of getting the whole, entire, gigantic downstairs room cleaned out and organized. It didn’t happen. So I started feeling like a failure of mammoth proportions and wondering how my husband can stand to come home after a long and productive day to a home in which nothing has changed. Then I remembered the vichyssoise and vodka.
By 8am I had cleared off a 9′ segment of kitchen counter space, shelved a milk crate full of books, made coffee, started a load of laundry and fed the (7) cats who live in our yard. Then I showered, taught Martina how to make scrambled eggs with cheese and ham, given her the rest of her weekly assignments and prodded Travis into semi-consciousness.
By 2pm I had cleaned and organized and watered all of the plants, mostly herbs, living in my sun porch and repotted a couple of them; eaten lunch; moved a few boxes out of the downstairs and sorted through one I found behind my bedroom door. 3 more loads of laundry had gone through the cycle. The kids and I had made a trip to the homeschool bookstore where Travis picked out a math tome that suits his needs and I found a nifty writing course for Martina. (Life of Fred math-thanks Sara and Shez and Writing With Ease by Susan Wise Bauer, I have high hopes for this one!) Supper was bubbling away in the crock pot.
By 4pm, Travis had done the first assignment in the math book, watched his history course dvd, done Latin with his little sister as his tutor (heh) and myriad other things, all at my direction. Martina was finished with her school work, as well. The school work is not a short cycle deal, either. I’ve come to realize and maybe even have gotten over, that I am a school-at-home homeschooler. I like books. I like order. I like to go through things in a certain order. So, not only did we do school work, Mom had a moment of realization and self-acceptance.
If you’ve made it this far you, too, have done something huge today 😉 and thanks to my friend, Shez, I have a glass that’s half full.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in family, health and well-being, homeschool, Martina, parenting, personal, Travis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marketing the Skills of a Homeschool Mom

Leave a Reply

