Dear Friends and Fellow Celebrants


Christmas is coming. The commercials on television, radio and oozing through the ether make it clear: Buy. Buy now. Buy more. Back in the Olden Days, Christmas had manners. Christmas held the door for Thanksgiving and waited politely for the next day. At least. These days, however, the message is: spend, spend, spend.

Personally, I decline. I love Christmas. It is my favorite holiday and I spoil my children and try to do my best by my husband and other close family members. But I also try really hard to purchase gifts made by artisans, craftspeople, preferably locals. Then? Then I’m out of money.
Friends and fellow celebrants of Christmas, please understand that I may like you. It’s possible that I even love you…but if you are not blood kin, please do not give me a gift. Please do not expect a gift from me. In fact, this is my gift to you: One less person to shop for. (Or seven, depending on how well you know me.) Drop by and share a glass of cheer but dude, please, please don’t come bearing gifts. It’s just too much.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, decency, festivals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

