25, 000 words per day

According to research, or legend, English-speaking women speak aloud 25,000 words per day. Men are allotted 10,000. I got about half of one man’s share. If I can’t bother to speak them aloud, why on earth did I believe I could type all of them plus an extra few thousand?

Like an idiot, I signed up for Nanowrimo. What was I thinking? We are moving. Any second I will pack up my tipi and tie on the travois and we’ll haul our butts back to Chesapeake. Seriously, 7,000 written words per day while we’re moving? I don’t even talk that much unless we have a great read aloud going. To think I could do it mid-move was preposterous. Peer pressure caused it. I blame them and refuse to shoulder any of it myself. All those women who blogged and Facebooked and emailed about this damned balls-to-the-walls writing extravaganza. I should never have given in but I did so let me be the first admit defeat. Today I wrote my allotted number of words and really? Drivel. Suckage. What a waste of time. I wish all of you, my friends, my peers, my more dedicated-to-the-word friends the best of luck.

Me? I’ll see you on the 26th when you are pale and exhausted and I will laugh at you. Then? I will get you a glass of wine and toast your success.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in decency, festivals, health and well-being, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

