My Husband


He must have been a porcupine in his last life because he doesn’t mind a prickly woman. In fact, my guess is that he prefers his women a little … intimidating.

Or maybe he was a pirate. They don’t mind their gals having a little spice. In fact, I’m not sure most pirates even liked women, really. But I’m talking about Mark here and he does like women and he does look like a pirate. Avast!
Back to his not being easily put off by a woman with a mind of her own-
Just look at his horse. She is the perfect example. She’s big, loud and sort of scary looking with those pale blue eyes. She is also deaf. Sometimes I’m sure he wishes that I were more like his mare. I know he loves us both though and that while we may both be intimidating to the faint-hearted, he knows we are just like chestnuts: prickly on the outside but sweet and meaty on the inside … or something like that. My metaphors are lacking today, obviously.


Then I catch a moment like this and I think, ‘No. Wait. He likes his girls small and sweet, with lisps.’ Which makes me try really hard to be nicer than I normally am.

Last night we had dinner with friends and the subject came up of how we often only talk about our spouses when we have something to complain about. The good stuff never really shows up in conversation. It’s true, unfortunately, and so I’m doing this post. Because folks? I don’t talk about Mark often and you know, on the level, it’s because I have very little to complain about.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in family, health and well-being, Mark, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Husband

  1. bnmng says:

    I don't have anything to add, but if this was facebook I'd have clicked 'like'.

Leave a Reply

