Taking a Day

One of the coolest things about home schooling is the ability to make the executive decision to Take a Day. Today I’ve given Martina the day off from school work. She’s got a cold and seems to be recovering now and is deep in her pretend world with a few stuffed lions and some scarves. Why interrupt? Isn’t this one of the Big Reasons why I home school her? So that she can be a child. So that she can play for long, uninterrupted stretches of time? Yes. Absolutely.

She started the day by building Indiana Jones a temple out of Legos. She then took a dropper and put one drop of water on top of each exposed Lego bump on the temple. Now she is making a sling for her baby lion that’s not even old enough to eat.
Me? I have tomatoes. I’m not sure I’ll deal with them but I should. Planning is my task for the day. A home school is in constant evolution. Ours is, at any rate. There are thing we always do: math; latin; german. There are lesson blocks both in progress and planned: phonics; grammar; science; history. There are once-weekly things: form drawing; nature journaling.
I find teaching my daughter to be a lot like riding a horse. If I forget myself and just sit there and hang on, the ride is not good for me or the horse. If I keep a good feel on the reins, give when I need to, take up a bit when required, then the ride is so much better because we are connected and communicating at all times. Lessons are the same way.
If my horse was ill I’d feed him well, groom him, take care of him but I wouldn’t ride. So today, I’m leaving the school work and letting her imagination run free.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in children, family, health and well-being, homeschool, Martina, parenting, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

