Lunch, picky eaters and corn-vs-potatoes

This is what I made for lunch. This is a typical lunch for our family. Normally our lunch service is around noon and I serve three people: Travis/17, Martina/7 and myself/get a life. We all eat the same thing. Together. So pardon me for not having much sympathy for people who can’t figure out what to feed their picky kids. They created their own monsters. Read on:

Today I watched a television show called The View. They featured a segment called, “Picky Eaters,” in which they discussed ways to disguise healthy food in order to get children who are picky eaters to eat it.

Now, call me crazy but it seems to me, has been my experience, that most kids eat fruit. Apples, bananas, oranges, cherries, strawberries, mangoes, etc. and they are quite willing to do without added sugar, cream or other flavor enhancers. Healthy, packed with nutrients, convenient packaging (read: comes in a skin.) This was not mentioned. What I heard (and I didn’t listen to the whole segment because it began with such a stupid proposition) was that kids won’t eat fish. Huh? What kids won’t eat fish? Who cooked the fish and ruined it? Kids do eat fish. I have rarely seen one refuse tuna and I mean plain old canned tuna. Last time I checked, canned tuna was fish. What about flounder or other white, mild fish? Almost any kid will eat that broiled with a little seasoning and served with a side of rice and a vegetable. Of course, they were discussing those kids who were fed Lunchables, Spaghetti-O’s and other processed crap and thus have some expectation that all food taste like salty fat. I suggest that parents start out feeding their children nutritious whole foods and never experience wondering how to disguise a piece of cod within a fish-cake, even an organic one … Unless, of course, you want to make fish cakes because you love them, which is a whole other … um … kettle of fish.
There was also a suggestion put forth that parents make ‘polenta fries’ instead of french fries. Now pardon me for asking, yet again, but WTF? Boiled corn meal is in not superior to potatoes and with so many people finding out they have grain allergies, it could be far worse. If you’re going to stuff your kid with carbs in the form of fried potatoes why quibble? Give the kid a good, old-fashioned french fry. Eating a little junk food is okay. It’s eating a LOT of junk food that causes problems and seriously? Offering a kid polenta sticks isn’t exactly going to boost their phytonutrient levels.
Obviously, our lifestyle is not mainstream but I am still often shocked at how little people understand about what they are putting into their bodies. I see the yank-and-slappers at the grocery store loading up the carts with soda and cookies and Cap’n Crunch, telling the kids to shut up and behave and popping the little tykes on the butt and I wonder why it doesn’t seem to occur to those adult that maybe those kids are just suffering from malnutrition or oversugarization. I mean, dude. But what can I say? What can you say? Would they listen?
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, children, environment, health and well-being, opinion, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunch, picky eaters and corn-vs-potatoes

  1. bnmng says:

    RE: "Boiled corn meal is in not superior to potatoes and with so many people finding out they have grain allergies, it could be far worse."I didn't see the show but I agree, this sounds ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

