Where’s the Beef?


Do you remember that old commercial? Who was it for, Wendy’s? Two old women checking out a young male hottie and asking, ‘Where’s the beef.” They wanted a hamburger… Anyway, we picked up our half of a locally grown, grass fed, grain supplemented steer last night. The hanging weight was #419 and we paid $2.50 per pound of that. Of course, the weight was greatly reduced in the butchering process but we are, nevertheless, quite satisfied with our cache of beef. We have been depriving ourselves of beef ever since Porterhouse made his last meal, quite a long time ago.

It is shocking to me that this wonderful farm family who raises these fat, happy cattle on large pastures full of green, waving grass, has a difficult time finding buyers for their cattle. Maybe it’s freezer space or maybe it’s the outlay of so much cash all at once but a sweeter deal on local, ethical, delicious meat just can’t be found.
I understand that a lot of people don’t eat meat. If you are one of them, then this, obviously, is not for you. But it is for us, for my family. It’s our thing. It’s also true that grass fed beef is better for us that commercially raised (feed lotted) beef. Meat from grass-fed animals has two to four times more omega-3 fatty acids than meat from grain- fed animals.” (From eatwild.com) It really does kind of make me crazy that our government has made it so difficult for me to buy the food I want from my neighbors. I mean, one swerve over this line or that and we are criminals. Just because we think about what we eat and have made the conscious (conscientious) decision to look at our food as something more than the easiest way to fill the void. I would be absolutely willing to let the government off the hook and take every inch of credit for my own food safety responsibilities if that would make it easier for me to find raw milk or help others gain access to this good beef.

Ah. Frustrations aside, it is so settling to me to be able to open that freezer and see that it is full. This makes me feel safe and happy and thankful.


Hoho! I found it. No hawt young man but those fabulous old ladies are there =)

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in activism, cattle, environment, health and well-being, opinion, rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s the Beef?

  1. Heather says:

    full quiver farm in Suffolk does cow shares for raw milk. http://www.fullquiverfarm.com I know I am a stranger but I happened across your blog some time ago and really enjoy it- you have a real gift. Heather

  2. Cerwydwyn says:

    Thanks Heather. FQF is just a few miles from us but hubby has vetoed the milk share for now. I'm glad you enjoy my blog. It's so All Over the Place that I'm not sure sometimes if readers can enjoy it. It's nice to hear someone does =)

Leave a Reply

