A Peek Behind the Curtain


What do you do in a typical day? Is an oft-asked question among homeschooling mothers. It is within my circle of friends anyway. In an effort to answer that question I’m going to lift the curtain on two days. One a very good, very productive day at the end of which I feel satisfied and a little cocky with my product. The other day will be what I think of an an off-day, a semi-failure to thrive day, a day at the end of which I feel like I should have done more but will still have whatever book I’m reading held near the end of my nose.

Good or Bad first? Hmmm…. I’ve always preferred to save the best for last so here we go, a bad day:
I wake up around 8:00 am and think: Shit! It’s late! and then I clamber out of bed and make coffee, read my book, emails, blog posts and etc for an hour or two. Then I read some more. Around 11:00 I’ll grab the kids and go outside to feed or I’ll just send them to do it while I take a shower and start a load of laundry (which will sit in the machine until it sours because this is a low energy day). We have lunch. Leftovers probably. Then I read and play on the computer while the kids play video games or online. Sometimes Martina will come in and flop down in front of me and I fix her with a fragment of my scattered attention and tell her to play with her dog. Eventually supper time struggles along and I heat up some leftover soup, butter some rolls and tell everyone to come and eat. Mark came home at some point and I kissed him hello without looking up from my book. Maybe I’ve gotten Martina to come sit and read with me. Travis has been scarce all day because he knows he can fly under the radar and play X-box all day if he at least does his history school work.
Things are a bit… boring and mind numbing behind the curtain on these days.
On a good day I’ll get up just after 7:00 am, make coffee, read my book and emails and blogs but then? I MOVE ON. I feed the animals, with the kid’s help, and then we will garden for an hour or so before we come inside to play a game or read aloud. I make lunch and do the actual chopping and cooking for something delicious and lunch-like. After lunch we’ll read and blog and check emails again and then I will have the children focus on school work. We always seem to find this easier to do in early afternoon than in the morning. For whatever reason I have to get the chores out of the way first. While the kids are occupied with work I will do housework and prep supper and these things all flow together beautifully: me chopping vegetables; Martina working on her math or handwriting; Travis doing school work on the computer; Jasmine on her back in the corner, making weird noises.
Once these things are all wrapped up and all of our chores are finished we’ll maybe play a game or chat for a while. Then Mark comes home and we eat supper, Travis cleans up and we just chill for the rest of the evening.
Our days are not all like this. I work two days per week, so those days follow a different pattern but when we’re at home, this is the basic outline. It’s funny how much better I feel when I’ve had a productive day. I’d better get moving!
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in children, health and well-being, homeschool, Mark, Martina, parenting, personal, Travis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

