The Best Birthday Ever



Yesterday was my 45th birthday. Honestly I almost forgot about it and had planned to meet my friend, T, for sushi until Mark informed me that my family required my presence on that particular evening. I rescheduled the sushi date and tried hard not to listen to the flurry of planning that was happening in whispers in various locations throughout my home and workplace. All very sweet and flattering.

The day began with a leisurely morning and a precious, handwritten card from Martina. Late morning had Travis, Martina and I driving to the shipyard for a little while and then lunching with Mark and the other kids…and my father, sister, cousin and step-mom at Frankie’s Place. We were sitting at 3 different booths but that didn’t matter. It was great seeing everyone. BUT just after ordering my vision began closing in and I had to stumble outside and lean against the wall and breathe some fresh air. My vision got to where it was about like looking through an oil funnel when Mark came out and fetched me some Excedrin Migraine. Maybe it helped. I haven’t had a migraine in a while and usually I brew up a pot of lemon balm tea and lay down. Didn’t have that option this time. The headaches are generally due to stress, hormones or dehydration and to be honest, all three were in play yesterday. Which sucked. But I put my head on Mark’s shoulder until our food came, then I ate lunch and went to Randall’s house and put my feet up on his remarkably soft couch until I could see properly.
All this time Martina, love bunny extraordinaire was bouncing around trying her best to make it a perfect and lovely birthday. How could it not be with all the attention? So we went to the pool and I watched her swim with her cousin R, for about an hour. At the pool I had a nice visit with R’s dad, Jeff who loaded an unfinished corn hole set into the back of my van! AWESOME. He didn’t know it was my birthday, I think he actually made them for Mark which was sweet. I’m excited to finish them and play.
Mark came home with a bag of blue crabs, took them out back and ‘popped the tops’. My brother and sister-in-law called. Travis got the pot set up for steaming the crabs. Around 6 p.m. Aleia came in the back door. She took the night off work to come hang out. She brought charcoal, a card and roses. A short time later Randall, Elizabeth and Missy came in another door bearing steaks, rosemary-garlic roasted potatoes and peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream. And birthday cards. Travis had already made salad and some salsa-cheese dip. Mark and the kids cooked, we all hung out and chatted. The younger kids played Rock Band, like always, one of the sounds of happiness in my life.

L-R: Mark, Missy, Randall, Travis, Aleia, Martina, Elizabeth
By 9 p.m. the kids had all gone back to their respective homes and I was tucking Martina in to the first chapter of On the Banks of Plum Creek.
It was about as perfect a day as happens in this life. Oh! My step-mom sent a gift and a card with Elizabeth. For me, though, the best gift of all is having my whole family together for a while. My cup runneth over.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in aleia, children, Elizabeth, family, festivals, food, health and well-being, Mark, Martina, parenting, personal, Randall, Travis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

