Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook. What’s the point?

This morning I went online and deleted my Twitter and Tumblr accounts. After giving both the good old college try, I have to admit that I do not see the point of either. Maybe I just lack the drive to click and click and click. Perhaps it’s my age (45 tomorrow!). I suppose that it could be my seemingly slow brain waves that find no pleasure in massive information reception, those small and irrelevant sips that don’t quench my thirst or even aggravate one. Give me a nice thick book for information. Besides, I just feel like pecking out my every thought and recording it on the internet is a little bit weird. I don’t much care for reading other people’s either.

No, I won’t miss Twitter and I certainly won’t miss Tumblr. I haven’t deleted that damned Facebook account though. In a world where most of my time is spent catering to the needs and demands of others, Facebook is all about me and I kind of like that. Each quiz that tells me what imaginary creature I am or who I was in a former life is an unabashed, harmless me-fest. Of course they’re all bullshit and it doesn’t matter at all. What matters is my happiness at the chance to be utterly self-absorbed for just a few minutes each day.
However, there may come a day when I delete the Facebook acccount, too. Social networking? That’s something you do at parties, after work happy hours and The Town Pointe Club, not while you’re wearing underpants and swilling Scotch at 2am in your living room. I like real, breathing people, warm bodies, and the ability to touch and gesture when we interact which leads to admitting that I often dislike the cold impersonality of plain text and the inability of said text to convey any real emotion as well as a person-to-person interaction. There are times when this emotional distance is a saving grace but in my mediocre, daily interactions I find a conversation with a friend I can make eye-contact with…un-Facebookable.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in blogging, health and well-being, opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook. What’s the point?

  1. Shez says:

    yup, yup, yup. I've joined both facebook and twitter and still can't work out what the point is

  2. alaina says:

    But then you wouldn't get to keep up with your far-away friends as often!I have very few "local" folks on my facebook…for me, it is all about getting to keep in very regular touch (even if it is mostly "chatter" and silly comments) with people I don't get the opportunity to see face-to-face on any sort of regular basis. Like you! (You, too, Ms. Sherene!) I like that y'all have been on FB more often. 😛

  3. &what about when I'm at school? you can check up on me and make sure i'm not being TOOOOO dumb!

Leave a Reply

