Tour of Our Garden, June 2009

Here are some recent photos of our gardens. The last few years have been rough with regards to our gardening efforts. Given the fact that our tomatoes don’t do well no matter where we place them and they are our main passion, it’s been difficult to get up any momentum but thanks to my feeling better and some determination found at at permaculture workshop, we’re on our way back. I garden without the use of any chemical anything, though I do use rabbit poop soup to fertilize and soap spray to keep the buggies at bay. I’m pretty close to being The Worst when it comes to routine maintenance that involves more than daily watering.

I decided to try planting a variety of things together and to reacquaint myself with companion plantings. There is a tomato in the asparagus bed but it’s struggling. I don’t think it’s just the bed of asparagus that is making the poor thing struggle though, they are supposed to get along…I suspect Bear (our Newfie) stepped on it. It looks very sad.
The squash are doing okay and so far I’m beating the damned squash bugs. Some squash vine borers got into the pumpkin stem and I finally pulled it out and got rid of it. We can plant more later. 
The herbs are coming along beautifully, though Martina’s basil has mine topped by a mile. Her’s is growing in the weedy grassy earth and mine is is a planter. I think water is the issue, though I water every morning. The planter is shallow and dries out quickly.
Today I am going to pick up some bamboo poles to build teepees out of for our late-planting of pole beans. I hope they grow and thrive. I think I’ll also plant a few more zucchini and yellow squash in an effort to confuse the damned squash beetles. Wish me luck.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in container gardening, environment, gardening-organic biodynamic natural, rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

