Dear Family


Dear Family,

Thank you all for being such great travelers. I am so overwhelmingly proud of all of you children for being smart and for listening to the tour guides, asking questions even, and for not rolling your eyes or talking about how bored you were where anyone could see.  I completely appreciate the fact that all of you managed to pack 2 weeks worth of clothing into one suitcase each that weighed less than 40 pounds and that you could roll your own bags through the 18,762 airports we ran through going and coming.
Martina, thank you for only puking one time and not on the airplane. I’m sure the Egyptian airport’s janitorial staff feel differently but I am proud. You carried your own 70 pound self through 2-24 hour travel sessions. You slept on the airplane when I told you it was time. You woke up and ate the shitty food because you knew it might be the last chance to eat for hours. You drank water when it was offered. You agreed every time I told you it was time for more sunscreen.
Elizabeth, thank you for keeping your tatas under a scarf the whole time we were in Egypt and for most of the time we were in Turkey. Also, I appreciate that you only had one major melt down the whole trip and that you managed to work it out and move in with your brothers and that was the end of it. Thank you for not flirting with hotel employees in any Developing Nation. I also want you to know that I, at least, appreciate the fact that you looked out for the Pig Twins and tried to keep them alive when no one else seemed to give a shit. Kudos.
Travis, you travel well. You are quiet and keep your thoughts to yourself. I don’t know if it’s healthy or not but it was good on the trip. Thank you for not being a drunk. Your liver appreciates it as much as I do. I know your shoe situation sucked and that you got tired of wearing flip flops but you dealt with it and didn’t complain. You sang karaoke with me when we had Mom’s night out. You stayed by the Pig Twins in Cairo and offered them a man-shoulder. I appreciate the way your calm, steady demeanor soothes the world.
Randall, you are well traveled and you travel well. Thanks for riding in the cab with Martina and I. In fact, thanks for being so cool with your baby sister throughout the trip. I got some great photos of you two. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with me when I had questions at the myriad archaeological sites we visited. Your grasp and retention of that stuff is amazing. Your willingness to go with the flow and bite the bullet on occasion was noted and appreciated. Greatly.
Mark, when I was not with Martina you managed to keep her from falling off the Acropolis of Athens. It was slick. Thank you. You are almost always supportive when I am in serious need of it and on these trips, that happens. 
I hope you all had fun and gained memories to last.
Love,
Mom/Tina
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in children, Elizabeth, family, Mark, Martina, opinion, parenting, personal, Randall, travel, Travis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

