Permaculture and how it applies to our gardens

Last week my friend Melina held a permaculture workshop in her home. The children and I went. Our teacher-guide, Sally, was wonderful and used games to teach all of us about permaculture and how our (crunchy) views differ from those of most of society.  I had heard of permaculture, had some idea about what it is and what it means but I googled and read and loved what I learned both on the net and from the workshop. The biggest thing that I gained, in my opinion, is a new determination to heal our soil, feed our plants well so that they are strong and disease and pest resistant and the motivation to actually go out there and sweat a bit to get it all done. Note: You can contact Sally by emailing her at eco-coach@bigfoot.com
We will be planting more food-bearing plants in our yard this year. As we can find, dig up (with permission), are gifted with or can afford to purchase plants, we will be adding them to our landscape. Hubby and I have decided to plant blackberries, blueberries and raspberries along our back yard fence line to the south. Hubby has to refence a portion of our back yard, which we hope to get done today even though it’s spitting rain, and then I can proceed to planting whatever we come up with there where the plants will have ample water and get good, day-long sunlight. 
I have some plans for planting fruit trees at the back of our pasture, once we have our sheep herd reduced to the size of one. Then we will not any good use for the well fertilized pen in the corner where the cows and sheep have spent portions of the last five years pooping and spreading hay and straw around. The soil there is fertile and black and beautiful. It is also, I’m certain, filled with nylon baling twine that would kill a tiller but I don’t think the tree roots will mind at all. Yes, I can totally see some lovely fruit trees filling in that little chunk of space. I’ll figure out how to actually harvest useable fruit later.
This week I planted echinacea, dill and chives, along with a couple of zucchini seeds in my cauldron. We shall see how this goes because there are no drain holes in the old, cast iron, pot. I also dragged an old galvanized tub into the front yard and Tea and I filled with peat and dirt. M and I then planted marigold, nasturtium, zucchini and pumpkin seeds in it. We have serious issues with squash bugs and yesterday I heard that they hate radishes. Today I will drop radish seeds around where I planted the pumpkins and zucchini. Then I will cross my finger and keep them crossed. I also understand that late planting helps keep them at bay, which is why I’m doing it in mid-May instead of a month ago.
We made our own hanging tomato planters. They still need to be filled with soil, tomatoes and then hung from the shepherds crooks Hubby nailed onto our front yard fence.
For the first time in years I’m feeling hopeful that we may find a way to harvest some food here. If you are interested in some of our failed experiments, you can look under container gardening and gardening-organic, biodynamic natural.
Thanks google images and This WordPress blog for the shot of the berries.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in container gardening, gardening-organic biodynamic natural, health and well-being. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

