Extortion

One day last November my ex-husband called me in a tizzy. You must understand, first off, that my ex-husband is almost always in a tizzy and so that part was not particularly unusual…but the subject matter was interesting and in the end? I was in a tizzy, too.

You see, he had decided he might want to go on and book a hotel room for our son’s graduation. He called around, chatted with a few hotel receptionists and found out some interesting things. Among them were:
You want to book early. Like now would be a good time for next year’s commencement.
They require a 3 night minimum.
They jack their rates to Jupiter. No kidding.
So I started making calls. Every hotel I contacted had the same 3 night minimum and a $169.99 per night rate for a double room. I fainted after the third call. Eventually I booked 3 rooms at a B&B that only had 4 rooms, 1 of which was already booked. I needed a room for Eli and Tea, a room for Hubby, M and I and a room for Dad and Step-Mother. We had to pay in full, in February for these reservations made in November. I had never stayed at this place but it looked lovely and it was in a pecan orchard. For those of you who have visited my Old Homeplace, you know that I grew up in a pecan orchard and those of you who haven’t visited The Old Home Place know it now.
Well, all things considered? The B&B was excellent, extortion aside. More on that later. The excellent B&B, that is. Another post, in fact. As to the extortion? I’m sure it is the accepted thing to do but it still pissed me off to pay all that money for 3 nights when we only wanted to stay 1 or 2. I suppose we could have stayed in Raleigh or Durham for a few nights for less money but it didn’t really occur to me until after we had paid the $1,204 it cost us for 3 nights at the B&B. That’s not counting Dad’s room, which we could not afford to pay for and so had to ask him to send them a check.  
At least breakfast was good.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in children, Custies, family, opinion, personal, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

