Misogynist

Yes, one of those. I ran into him, literally, at the commencement ceremonies for UNC last weekend. Let me say up front that this so-called man is no Tarheel. In fact, according to my son’s former roommate, this so-called man is a ‘pussy’. There are lots of those lurking around Chapel Hill pretending to be men according to this blue eyed, sparkling smiled young man. Amen.

Hubby and I were leading the children toward the entrance to the arena and there was a line. A fairly long one. We were near the front when a tall, very thin, white-haired man moved in front of Hubby with his body twisted so that his pelvis faced the arena gate but his upper body was facing away from Hubby and his back was in my husband’s face. Hmph. A line cutter. I stepped forward to make my way into my spot in line regardless but this guy stepped forward, shouldered me out his way…well, he tried to, I didn’t actually move. When I didn’t move he turned around and hiding his hand behind his program, shoved his fist into my belly. Hard.
I looked up at him and calmly said, “I’m sure there is room for everyone but really, I promise I am not going to steal your seat. We have seats already.” At which point the man jumped in telling me, from his immense, bow-tied height, what a rude person I was to have pushed him, shoved him and jumped his place in line. When I pointed out that the opposite was true he back pedaled a wee bit and said, “I want to be with my son,” and indicated the young man in front of me. I flatly and calmly said, “You should have just said something rather than shouldering your way in front of me.” Misogynist turned red and told me that I was rude and that I had better not try again to get between he and his son again or shove him again. Which I had not done. At which point I mentioned the fist in my stomach and he turned red and bent down to get in my face.
Maybe I should mention that I’m 44 with some gray hair. I wasn’t wearing much makeup. I was wearing a simple white frock with little flowers on it and leather sandals. I looked like a frumpy housewife. He had no idea what he was getting into until Hubby said, right into the guy’s big red ear, “If you touch my wife again you and I are going to have a problem.”
This dude looked at Hubby, apologized about 25 times, offered us his place in line and finally moved forward to join his son. Which is what he should have done to begin with. 
The interaction bothers me. Not because the guy was a jerk. Not because he was sneaky enough to punch me in my stomach, in a crowd, and no one could really see him do it. No, it bothers me because he was very threatening and tried so hard to muscle his way over me but as soon as another man stepped in, he backed down. Just like the misogynistic pussy he is. 
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in health and well-being, opinion, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

