A Blessed Lupercalia to You!

Lupercalia, the Roman festival of fertility and welcoming spring. Somehow this sounds like so much more fun than V-Day, which kind of pisses me off. I feel like I have to recognize that it’s a Day of some note because otherwise my little one’s heart would be broken and I’d be kind of an ass to my husband. I’ve been teasing for weeks about the truck I bought Mark and the diamond I expected from him…

He bought roses at the grocery store while we shopped for the supper ingredients. I made french onion soup and salad. He made steak and grilled corn on the cob. Dessert was chocolate fondue. I ate a great deal of chocolate fondue with fruit to dip in. Yum. I dressed up the table with the proper colors but still, it’s kind of a bloodless holiday. If it is a holiday. All hearts and flowers, in the tradition of Victorian love. With corsets and stays and repression.
I totally prefer the idea of drunken revelry and wild sex that is associated with Lupercalia. Maybe it’s the Italian blood, the one drop that’s left in our very diluted family line, that leaps to life with the prospect of dancing around a fire, whooping wildly and copulating in the fallow fields…not that we will. If the neighbors complain because we won’t block off our drainage ditch, imagine what they’d have to say about squishy, middle-aged love in the garden? Heh. 
Have a rip roaring time today, folks. It’s a good excuse to have a little fun in the midst of the winter doldrums.
About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in family, festivals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

