The Saga of the Tooth: Finale


Where to begin? Root canal can’t happen because tooth is cracked. Insurance does not cover dental implants, only extraction and that had to happen. Dentist sent me to a Periodontist who insists that my teeth need deep cleaning and no less that 4 separate treatments will do. I doubt my insurance covers this either. This is a real-life example of wife/mother neglects self in order that husband/children may use up all available medical dollars on themselves. She lives to regret it.

So I carry my self, Travis, Martina, cracked tooth and insanely swollen lymph nodes to Periodontist who tries to pull the stubborn fucker. OHMYGOD. Never have I felt such pain. Not during child birth, not during a spinal tap. Never. The poor doctor, a petite Asian-inspired woman who couldn’t have weighed more than my tooth, must have used a full case of Novocaine in my gums but that nerve wasn’t getting numb. She numbed until I could no longer speak English and she numbed some more and then she tried to pull the tooth. I grabbed both arm handles, arched my back and roared like a she-bear caught in a trap. I could feel the live nerve from the root of my tooth and from there toward the center of my jaw and it did not feel good folks. It did not feel good at all. She stopped. I sat up. I cried from the pain. My legs and arms were jumping around without my asking them to do so. It looked just like something from a movie where the actor is doing the death twitch. Weird. I tried deep breathing.

The nurse kept saying, ‘Take some deep breaths and relax.’ Only she sounded a lot like Sgt. Carter and not so much like a yoga instructor. Her voice, her judgment, made me more tense. After 3 tries to yank that baby out despite the live nerve, Doctor Evil (really, she’s not but at that moment…)decided to drill and get it out piece by piece. I’m not sure if my screams of pain, the jumping, twitching pain wracked body, or the sheer immobility of the tooth convinced her. Eventually, and it was bound to happen, she hit that nerve with her drill. I cannot tell you how painful and how satisfying it was when she jammed that long slim needle full of numb-juice down into that raging, hard wired nerve. Bliss. Peace. No more pain.

The tooth came on out. My legs and arms didn’t stop twitching. I cried and moaned the whole way home. I have never felt anything so painful in my life. For the first time ever I think I might actually be a wimp. But whatever. The tooth is gone and I don’t need pain pills any more. Of course, I look like I have a jaw full of chaw but WTF? I live in North Carolina.

Thanks to Google images for the pic.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in health and well-being, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

