The Moment of the Audible Click

My husband began working in my family’s business when I was pregnant with R. At that time, the shipyard was fairly small and so I met Hubby soon after he started work there. I thought he was cute. I thought he had a cute ass. But he was married. I was pregnant and got married a few months after my son was born (no maternity sized wedding dress for me, thank you.) So I just thought my thoughts and life went on.

Over the years (future) Hubby and I ran into one another here and there–you know, bars, business parties, that sort of thing–and we’d always end up talking, passionately, about something. We would literally be nose to nose in the noise of the bar, trying to hear each other, talking about…whatever. He would inevitably take off his rose colored (seriously) aviator specs and fix his amazing baby blues on me and hold me there, pinned, like a little insect. I only squirmed a little. He was intense and smart and hot but we were always otherwise engaged, romantically, and so we called it friends and that was that.

About ten years ago I decided to kick the Man Habit for a while. Detox. Find myself. Heal. Time for the annual shipyard throw-down came and once again, (future) Hubby and I wound up verbally engaged. I took him to my house (the party was in the field in front of my house) to show him these chicks a friend had given me. They were Easter chicks and dyed various colors. Very cute and fluffy. They were in a box by my bed. There he sat, drunk, holding a bright blue chick, his aviators sort of askew and halfway down his nose and peering over the rims with eyes just the same color as the chick and I thought, “I’m in love with this guy.” It was a little bit shocking because we had never had that kind of relationship but there it was, The Moment of the Audible Click. This was the guy.

He, of course, didn’t get it so quickly. He was dating a married woman and continued to do so until one night she gave him to me. Literally said, ‘Let’s go outside and talk.’ She gave him to me and reader, I TOOK HIM.

Being a man he was a bit slow to catch on but he was steadfast and taking things slowly was a first for me and good. Nine short years later here we are…and he still has a cute ass.

Thanks to Mrs. G for the post idea.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in family, health and well-being, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

