A Blogger on Blogging

When I first began blogging it was more of a journaling exercise than for any real purpose. I simply decided to write about my life experiences with our home, animals, garden, family and homeschool. Eventually my blogosphere expanded to include friends, reviews and sometimes, rants. I never, ever realized the power that a blog has. It never really occurred to me that anyone, other that my immediate family and close friends would want to read it. Little did I know…

My first reality check came with these two posts: Our New Mattress and Mattress Update. I was shocked when the salesman from Tomorrow’s World contacted me in response to the blog post! I think that the whole experience of post-phone call-another post left a much sweeter taste in my mouth than had I never heard from the salesman again.

Then my blog caused a stir in our local community. I posted a rant, fueled by years of frustration. I have since removed the post because while I stand behind the sentiment in it–there are men who can only feel good about themselves by belittling others–much of what I wrote was in poor taste and I apologize for that. I had no idea that the residents of Corapeake were peeking in on my life!

Then again, a few days ago, I posted a review of a ranch my family visited almost a year ago. It took me a long time to write the review because I needed some distance from the experience to seperate the wheat from the chaff. I immediately received a wonderful response from the general manager of the resort. This is a huge place. A resort with several private residences for Presidential and Vice-Presidential families. I did not suspect that my blog post would rate more than a snort or a snuffle but surprise! Again.

A blog is, apparently, a powerful tool and not one to be used unthinkingly. My wish is to tackle tough subjects, things that many writers shy away from and to also continue the meadering of subject matter and not stick to one theme like so many bloggers like to do. My life is too complicated for that. That being said, I also realize that I can’t post anything that I don’t want repeated in polite company because it appears that while people don’t seem to judge folks by what they say, they do judge folks by what they write.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in health and well-being, opinion, personal, rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

