Rhythms of Life

With the advent of autumn weather I always experience a time of greater activity, both mental and physical and this year, spiritual. It’s as if I awaken from summer’s suffocation all of sudden and am alive again!
Right now I am awakening to the fact that we don’t really have a good rhythm to our days. I spend too much time online and I am breaking that habit. Not that I won’t use the computer for entertainment or education at all, but less and at times when my youngest isn’t wondering what in the heck she should be doing while mommy is unavailable. Rhythm is difficult for me as I tend to flit here and there, from one thing to another, and so I am seeking out the rhythms we already have in place as a starting point. Here’s what I mean:
Daily:
We feed our animals in the morning, fill troughs with fresh water, check on the sheep and the steer, grain the chickens and horses.
We eat breakfast together.
We cuddle. We read.
As the day goes on we eat lunch and then supper together.
That’s a beginning.
Weekly:
Tuesday is Mommy and Martina day while Big Bro works.
Thursday is RSA day.
Saturday we have a riding lesson.
These, also, are beginnings.
Now to add to them. Having the wee one help me with my meal preparations. Singing songs like my Grandma did with me when I was little. Sewing, knitting, having the little one help with these as well. Paying more attention to what and how I do what I do and say what I say, nurturing and living with intent and awareness rather than bumbling along in any old way and just getting through each day.
It may take a while, but I am determined to find rhythms that work for us.

About Blue Eagle Dreamer

Shamanic High Priestess and facilitator of empowerment and healing circles for girls and women, including a monthly Red Tent Temple. BA in English, minor in anthropology. Waldorf homeschool mom. Reiki master, cranial sacral therapist, herbalist, menstruvist, feminist, epicurian.
This entry was posted in homeschool, Waldorf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

